STA 313: Advanced Data Visualization

This page contains an outline of the topics, content, and assignments for the semester. Note that this schedule will be updated as the semester progresses and the timeline of topics and assignments might be updated throughout the semester.

WEEK DATE PREPARE TOPIC MATERIALS DUE
1 Thu, Jan 11

Welcome + Grammar of graphics

slides-00


2 Tue, Jan 16

πŸ“š ggplot2-book - grammar
πŸ“š socviz

Deep dive into ggplot2 layers I

slides-01
ae-01



Wed, Jan 17

πŸ“š ggplot2-book - Chp 13
πŸ“š ggplot2-book - Chp 14

Meet the toolkit

hw-0



Thu, Jan 18

πŸ“š ggplot2-book - Chp 15
πŸ“š ggplot2-book - Chp 16
πŸ“š ggplot2-book - Chp 17

Deep dive into ggplot2 layers II

slides-02
ae-02


3 Tue, Jan 23

πŸ“š R4DS - Chp 6

Data wrangling + tidying I

slides-03
ae-03

βœ… RQ 1 at 10 am


Wed, Jan 24

Work on HW 1




Thu, Jan 25

πŸ“š R4DS - Chp 21

Data wrangling + tidying II

slides-04
ae-04


4 Tue, Jan 30

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 13

Visualizing time series data I

slides-05

πŸ“ HW 1 at 5 pm


Wed, Jan 31

Work on Project 1 proposals




Thu, Feb 1

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 14

Visualizing time series data II

slides-06
ae-05


5 Tue, Feb 6

πŸ“ A new global gender divide is emerging
πŸ“ Excess Deaths in 2020

🎀 Guest lecture: Kieran Healey
Small multiples


βœ… RQ 2 at 10 am


Wed, Feb 7

Peer review for Project 1 proposals + Work on HW 2




Thu, Feb 8

πŸ“ 9 ways to imagine Jeff Bezos’ wealth
πŸ“ Feminist Data Set
πŸ“ Dear Data

🎀 Guest lecture: Kelsey Brod
Data as art

slides



Fri, Feb 9


πŸ“‘ Project 1 proposals for instructor review at 5 pm

6 Tue, Feb 13

πŸŽ₯ Cara Thompson - Dynamic annotations: tips and tricks

Themes + axes + annotation

slides-07
ae-06

πŸ“ HW 2 at 5 pm


Wed, Feb 14

πŸ“œ Historical visualizations
Rubenstein Library visit




Thu, Feb 15

πŸ“ƒ Six part series on W.E.B. Du Bois’ legacy

Du Bois visualizations

slides-08


7 Tue, Feb 20

πŸ“ƒ The Right Tools for the Job by Frank Elavsky
πŸ“ƒ Writing Alt Text to Communicate the Meaning in Data Visualizations by Elizabeth Hare

Data visualization accessibility

slides-09



Wed, Feb 21

Work on Project 1 presentations + writeups




Thu, Feb 22

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 29

Presentation ready plots I

slides-10


8 Tue, Feb 27

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 10
πŸ“š fdv - Chp 11

Visualizing Likert data I


βœ… RQ 3 at 10 am


Wed, Feb 28

Project 1 presentations


πŸ“‘ Project 1


Thu, Feb 29

πŸ“ƒ The case against diverging stacked bars
πŸ“ƒ On Likert Scales In R

Visualizing Likert data II



9 Tue, Mar 5

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 15

Visualizing geospatial data I




Wed, Mar 6

Work on HW 3




Thu, Mar 7

πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 1 +
πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 2 +
πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 3

Visualizing geospatial data II


πŸ“ HW 3 at 5 pm

10 Tue, Mar 12

🌴 No lab - Spring Break




Wed, Mar 13

🌴 No lab - Spring Break




Thu, Mar 14

🌴 No lab - Spring Break



11 Tue, Mar 19

πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 4 +
πŸ“ƒ sf vgnette 5

Project 2 preview + Visualizing geospatial data III


βœ… RQ 4 at 10 am


Wed, Mar 20

Work on HW 4 + Project 2 proposals




Thu, Mar 21

πŸ“š fdv - Chp 16
πŸ“ƒ Uncertainty Visualization

Visualizing uncertainty



12 Tue, Mar 26

Visualizing … (TBA)


πŸ“ HW 4 at 5 pm


Wed, Mar 27

Project 2 proposal peer review


πŸ“‘ Project 2 proposals for peer review at 1 pm


Thu, Mar 28

Visualizing … (TBA)




Fri, Mar 29

Visualizing … (TBA)


πŸ“‘ Project 2 proposals for instructor review at 5 pm

13 Tue, Apr 2

Tables


βœ… RQ 5 at 10 am


Wed, Apr 3

Work on HW 5




Thu, Apr 4

Animation



14 Tue, Apr 9

Interactive visualizations + reporting with Shiny I


πŸ“ HW 5 at 5 pm


Wed, Apr 10

Work on Project 2




Thu, Apr 11

Interactive visualizations + reporting with Shiny II



15 Tue, Apr 16

Generative art I


βœ… RQ 6 at 10 am


Wed, Apr 17

Work on HW 6




Thu, Apr 18

Generative art II



16 Tue, Apr 23

Presentation ready plots II


πŸ“ HW 6 at 5 pm


Wed, Apr 24

Project 2 code review



17 Wed, May 1

Project 2 presentations (9 am - 12 pm)


πŸ“‘ Project 2